5 speakers 15 minutes each

Simon Callow

on Shakespearean bibliotherapy

Simon Callow CBE is an actor, director and writer. He has appeared in many films, including the hugely popular Four Weddings and a Funeral, Shakespeare in Love and Phantom of the Opera. Callow’s books include Being an Actor, Shooting the Actor, a highly acclaimed biography of Charles Laughton, a biographical trilogy of Orson Welles and his memoir My Life in Pieces. His acting credits in productions of works by and about Dickens include The Mystery of Charles Dickens, Dr Marigold and Mr Chops, and  A Christmas Carol, and playing Dickens himself in the BBC’s Dr Who. He has also written an anthology of Shakespeare passages, Shakespeare on Love, and contributed to Cambridge's Actors on Shakespeare series. He is currently at work on the fourth volume of his life of Orson Welles biography series. His biography of Wagner, Inside Wagner's Head, will be published in early 2017.

also on

on playing the Bard

also on

on Charles Dickens